Why Medusa’s Tavern?

Image
Why Medusa’s Tavern?

What has spiritual development got to do with Medusa I hear you say and who is she??  Well, I will try to keep it brief but I can’t promise. 

 Who was Medusa?

Quite simply Medusa is the woman that you have seen in films with snakes as her hair – ahh yes her I hear you!  As is customary in Greek & Roman myths (I don’t believe they were myths) there are several different stories – some say she was born that way but most say it was due to a run in with Athena.

See, according to legend, Medusa lived in the far north of Greece and had never seen the sun.  She asked Athena to come south to which Athena denied, Medusa being Medusa angrily accused Athena of being jealous of her beauty. Athena  was so angry that she not only removed her beauty, but when people looked at her they were turned to stone!

Another story talks about Medusa’s beauty which was so stunning that many men courted her, but she became a priestess in Athena’s temple. She had an affair with the sea god, Poseidon in Athena’s temple, which as is today a terrible violation of a sacred place. Medusa became pregnant and when Athena learned what had happened she flew into a rage.  She cursed Medusa with snakes for hair, a body of a dragon and a face that turned those who looked at her to stone.

So how does Medusa fit in with Spiritual Development?

We learn lots of lessons from Medusa which aids in spiritual development.  The main one being ego and boastfulness doesn’t work – it is good to have one as you need to believe in yourself but there is a fine line.  Medusa learnt that pride comes before a fall and she learnt that the hard way.  There is no room for ego’s in spiritual development – we all work differently, everyone’s journeys are different.  People forget this and preach on how someone is doing it wrong – it’s not wrong – there are no rule books to say that it is law to do it that way.

Did you know that Pegasus was born out the blood from Medusa when Perseus beheaded her? Pegasus is important to me and I have flown with him on a number of occasions when being attunded or he wants to take me on a journey in meditation.

The best experience I have had with Pegasus was whilst being attunded to the Healing Colours of the Angels. At one point Angel Michael appeared holding Angel Raphael and Angel Jophiels hands and took me to a castle. They placed me there and Pegasus picked me up and took me on a journey. He flew me over rivers & mountains and showed me the beauty below. He told me to look at things in a different way and I have sown a lot of seeds that are growing just perfectly but I can’t see it at the moment. It really was a fantastic moment and experience.

We can learn a lot from Pegasus and Medusa so come with me on a spiritual development adventure…..

Leave a comment